Saturday Blog Showcase #8

This week Lori at All That Splatters is the host of the weekly saturday blog showcase.

This week I made Cinnamon Bun Pancakes with Maple-Butter Icing from Real Mom Kitchen. I was a wee bit late to make them for National Pancake Day, although I also didn’t know such a day existed. These are more of a sweet treat than a breakfast food in my opinion. In fact I made them after a nice breakfast out one morning. I added berries to them to add a wee bit of something healthy to these, and who doesn’t love a blueberry pancake?

Cinnamon Bun Pancakes
(Adapted from Real Mom Kitchen)

1 1/2 cups All-purpose Flour
3 Tbsp White Sugar
1/2 tsp Salt
4 tsp Baking Powder
1 Tbsp Cinnamon
2 whole Eggs Beaten
1 cup Milk
2 Tablespoons Corn Syrup
¼ cups Butter, Melted
2 tsp Vanilla
1 tsp Maple extract
1 cup Blueberries

Combine first five ingredients in a medium bowl, stir well and set aside.

In a large bowl, beat together eggs, milk, corn syurp, butter and vanilla. Gently combine flour mixture, stir until the mixture is fully moistened. Add blueberries, stirring until incorporated evening in the batter.

Cook 1/2 cup of batter per pancake on a lightly oiled frying pan set at medium heat. I prefer cast iron for pancakes.

Serve with walnuts maple-butter icing drizzled over the top. Makes 12 pancakes.

Maple-Butter Icing (I recommend doubling the recipe)

1/4 Icing Sugar
1/4 cup Butter, Melted
Dash of salt
2 Tbsp Maple Syrup
1/4 cups cream (I used cereal cream)
1/4 cup Toasted Walnuts/pecans, Chopped

Whisk all ingredients together until smooth, adding the cream slowly until desired consistency is reached

~ by danasaur82 on 02/27/2010.

4 Responses to “Saturday Blog Showcase #8”

  1. That would make for a nice addition to a brunch!! It looks delicious, Dana. Your photos are really wonderful!

  2. Dana, Cinnamon Bun Pancakes? What a great idea. I agree with Lori. Great photos.

  3. That maple butter icing did it for me! I ♥ ♥ ♥ anything MAPLE!
    Beautiful photograph…mouth watering actually. I can’t get those gorgeous close-up shots with my older camera. Can’t wait till I pick out a new one.

  4. What a yummy recipe and indeed, what a yummy photograph! Thank you for sharing this recipe.

    Best wishes and happy cooking,
    Natasha.

Leave a Reply

 
