Saturday Blog Showcase #7

Yes yes, week 6 is absent as it fell directly in the middle of my work week and I lacked any pre-planning last week to photograph something I made earlier in the week. And today’s is a wee bit late in the day, but I have good reason. I was out enjoying sunshine and purchasing some seeds from Seedy Saturday.

This week Ann at Thibeault’s Table is the host. Each week fellow food bloggers join her and Lori from All That Splatters to showcase recipes found on other food blogs. This week I made one of Ann’s recipes for scones. I used frozen blueberries for mine because that is what was in the freezer that morning. Really the only thing I changed was the sugars and amount of berries. I tend to substitute raw cane sugar in a lot of my baking but it doesn’t have as much sweetness as using white sugar. I made 8 of them and I think we ate 4 for breakfast when they were hot out of the oven.

Scones (Raspberry, Blueberry, Fresh Currants,etc..)
(adapted from Ann at Thibeault’s Table)

2 1/4 cups flour
1/4 cup white sugar
1/4 cup raw cane sugar
2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 Tbsp. cold butter
1 cup heavy cream
1 cup frozen blueberries
extra cream and sugar

Preheat oven to 425 degrees F. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut butter into mixture with pastry blender until it resembles a course meal. Add cream and raspberries to dry ingredients. Mix lightly with fork until mixture forms a stiff dough. Knead on floured board just to incorporate all flour; try not to damage berries.

Roll into 7-inch round and cut into 6 or 8 wedges. Place 1 inch apart on greased baking sheet; brush tops with cream and sprinkle with sugar. Bake for 15 to 18 minutes.

~ by danasaur82 on 02/20/2010.

3 Responses to “Saturday Blog Showcase #7”

  1. Well, yours sure turned out prettier than mine!! I think my baking powder needs to be replaced.
    Aren’t they delicious? I’m ashamed to admit how many I ate all by myself.

  2. This is my favorite scone recipe! Yours came out perfect, Dana!

  3. Dana, Perfect scones. I love the idea of adding cane sugar.

Leave a Reply

 
