Better than hospital food

I am often trying to find things I can make at work as I browse about food blogs and magazines. The resources for actually cooking anything there in the hospital are rather limited. There isn’t even a simple toaster oven on any of the wards I work on. All things must be from a microwave or fridge.

I saw a microwave cupcake on Torinicole’s Blog. Through a bit of a trial and error I modified it to be something that I think is not too bad when considering it cooks in a microwave. The dry ingredients can be mixed and brought in one container and the wet in another. Mix them all up in a mug with a fork and within minutes a hot chocolaty treat. I can’t say that I would make this one a lot at home when I have access to an oven to bake a real cake, but its single serving size is going to be great for a night shift.

Hot Chocolate Cupcake
(Adapted from torinicole)

4 tbsp flour
3 tbsp cocoa powder
4 tbsp sugar (I used a 50/50 mix of white and unprocessed cane sugar)
3 tbsp canola oil
3 tbsp buttermilk
1 egg
1/4 tsp vanilla
1/8 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp cayenne

Mix all the ingredients together in a large mug. Microwave on high for 2:30-3:30 minutes. Invert onto a plate, the cake should drop out. Top with chocolate sauce. I made a sauce as directed in to original recipe with a handful of chocolate chips and some milk melted together. I also topped mine with chili chocolate sugar topping.

~ by danasaur82 on 02/01/2010.

4 Responses to “Better than hospital food”

  1. Dana, your photo as me drooling! What a great-looking dessert!! I can’t believe you made that in the microwave!

  2. Ooooooh Dana, that looks soooooo good. Hard to believe that chocolaty goodness was baked in a microwave.

  3. I know its a bit odd. I am not really a fan of using the microwave for anything, but I just had to try it out.

  4. Now I know what to try with my “leftover” chocolate sauce. Ok, I admit I was saving the sauce. That looks like a good vehicle for it. (or Ann’s caramel sauce!).

    -rob333

Leave a Reply

 
