Saturday Blog Showcase #4

This week’s Saturday Blog Showcase is hosted by Lori over at All That Splatters. Head on over to her blog to see all of this weeks wonderful creations.

I made Toasted Garlic Soup (Sopa de Ajo) this week from Good Food, Good Wine and a Bad Girl. I made this because I love garlic and there is a restaurant in town that does a roasted garlic soup I adore. It’s not too far to walk there from my place but I figure if I can make something similar for a fraction of the cost in the comforts of my home I’ll do it. I changed a few things from the original recipe to suit my tastes.

The main change being omitting the parsley. I know parsley has its place but it always brings to mind bad garnish in mediocre restaurants so I tend to avoid it. The store only had curly parsley so I couldn’t even use a flat leaf parsley. I used less stock than the original recipe, only because I ran out. It was my own though so it was pretty condensed with flavor. I don’t think adding water to make up the liquid difference affected the end result too much. I also had focaccia bread on the side because it reminds me of the restaurant version and the bread usually soaks up some sangria in my stomach when I am eating out there.

Toasted Garlic Soup (Sopa de Ajo)
(Adapted from Isabelle at Good Food, Good Wine and a Bad Girl)

2 tbsp butter
10 cloves garlic, finely minced
1 tbsp flour
5 cups chicken stock
1 cup water
2 tbsp white wine vinegar
3 eggs, beaten
Pinch of thyme
1/4 tsp smoked paprika
Salt & pepper to taste
4 slices slightly stale crusty bread
1 cup grated Manchego cheese

Melt butter in a large saucepan over low heat. Add the minced garlic and flour. Stir frequently until the garlic is golden browned, about 5 minutes. Add chicken stock, water and vinegar. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes.

Remove from heat and whisk in eggs. Add thyme and paprika, season with salt and pepper.

Serve in 4 bowls. Top with a slice of bread and cheese. Broil until cheese is bubbly and light brown. Serve with extra bread on the side for dipping.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/30/2010.

6 Responses to “Saturday Blog Showcase #4”

  1. I love Garlic soup. The first time I had it was on the Algarve. Reading your recipe brought back sweet memories.
    Pam

  2. Dana, this looks delicious! I’ve never had any kind of garlic soup before so I”m anxious to try it.

    Your photo is amazing. Great post!

  3. Hi Dana, Garlic fans here, your soup looks delicious and I love that you added focaccia, great photography. Kathy.

  4. Pam – I love when food brings back good memories. When I was purchasing ingredients the checkout person talked about her memories of living in Spain.

    Lori – Thanks. Its a quick and easy one to try.

    Kathy – I never understand people who aren’t garlic fans. It’s like not liking chocolate, or not liking sunshine.

  5. Hi Dana … yippee! It’s good to see you participating in SBShowcase again this week.

    We’re VERY fond of garlic here, too. The only recipe I’ve ever used for garlic soup is one of French origins. I would love to try this version (the idea of vinegar and the smoked paprika really sold me on your version.)

    I’m sure your homemade stock really added tons of flavor.

    Thanks so much for sharing the recipe!

  6. Dana, you find the best recipes. You know how much I love garlic. The only Garlic Soup I’ve had was a Mexican version. Can’t wait to try yours.

Leave a Reply

 
