(Belated)Saturday Blog Showcase #3

I had this post all typed out in draft form yesterday. Then realized my camera battery had died when I tried to take some photos. So I left it charging and went out for the day. Completely forgetting that I hadn’t actually posted my post. So I am sad to say its a day late. Ann from Thibeault’s Table was the host this week.

I think most people who read food blogs know about Smitten Kitchen, if not you should go read her blog. Both the pictures and the recipes are mouth watering. I have tried several recipes from Deb’s blog with pleasing results, not as pleasing to my eye as her photos (and her counter tops), but I think every bit as delicious. I’ve tried the recipe I chose today a couple times, and I know I’ll be making it again.

My mom used to make up pudding, you know, proper pudding that is cooked on a stove, not from a box labeled Jello. Although we did end up having that instant pudding too the cooked pudding was the real treat. My favorite part is the skin layer on the top, although this also happens to be the least favorite part to many. I had almost forgotten all about making pudding on the stove top until I saw the post for caramel pudding. I think everyone should know how to do this, after all its not very hard to do and the end results are a million times better than you will ever get from that tiny box whisked with milk.

This caramel pudding, wow. Its quite sweet and delicious, I have enjoyed it warm and cold as it was intended. Matt described it well when he said “It tastes similar to a creme brulee in pudding form”. I have rather giant size ramekins and only four at that and I find that each as 2-3 servings in each. I’ve used espresso cups as well and found that portion to be a bit more reasonable. So unless you want to be on a sugar high for a whole day I would suggest keeping the portions on the smaller side. The recipe indicated 8 portions which I think is perfect.

I have been a bit scared to caramelize the sugar as dark as it should be for fear of burning it and having the mess of burnt sugar on my saucepan. I’ll just have to make this more and practice. I used whole milk (or homo milk as we call it in Canada) for its full flavor. I know there was a large move away from milk in glass bottles well before my time but I am thrilled to find a dairy from the area that still uses glass bottles. I have never been a fan of drinking milk, but there is something extra delicious about Avalon Milk.

Caramel Pudding
(From Smitten Kitchenwho adapted heavily from Food & Wine)

4 cups milk, whole or 2%
6 tablespoons cornstarch
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup sugar

Please go to Smitten Kitchen for full instructions.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/24/2010.

7 Responses to “(Belated)Saturday Blog Showcase #3”

  1. Caramel pudding sounds wonderful. Mom used to make the stove top kind. We loved it…she never strayed to far from vanilla and chocolate! This sounds like a pudding I would enjoy.

  2. Hi Dana, Oh that looks HEAVENLY!

    Your photo is beautiful… I wish I could reach a spoon through the screen to sample. 😀 I want to make this soon. Nice job!

  3. This looks and sounds delicious, Dana. I love anything caramel…or anything “brulee-ish”!! I’m saving this to try soon!

  4. This looks wonderful…and real comfort food!
    Love it !

  5. Nicely done. I love the photo. It sounds easy, except for the browning of the sugar. Nice blog for that matter.
    Nice post. Thanks for dropping by my blog.
    Pam

  6. Dana, I saw your pudding photo last night and it looked so good that I had to make a batch. It was too late to eat it last night by I’m seriously considering having some for breakfast. Another great photo.

  7. I adore caramel pudding. Yours looks and sounds especially delicious. Those photos are gorgeous. Your blog is gorgeous! I’ll be back often.

Leave a Reply

 
