Recipe-less Quiche

Ok, so the quiche was not entirely recipe-less. The beauty of quiche is that you can throw in all sorts of things to suit your taste. I think keeping it rather simple with the fillings has the best results, less is more. I also happen to enjoy quiche because it’s a good way to use up things in my fridge. This quiche happens to be vegetarian as well.

Today I happened to have several heads of broccoli, who knows why. Its one of those things I almost always order with my produce or get when I am at the grocery store. I takes a fair amount of time to go off, unlike the rather sad half wilted carrots next to it. I guess I haven’t eaten as much broccoli this past week. I cut the broccoli into tiny florets along with some onions and a clove of garlic.

I used a recipe for the pastry. I decided to try the Basic Pie Dough recipe from I Know How to Cook by Ginette Mathiot. I found that I needed about 4 more tablespoons of cold water than the recipe called for, but maybe that has something to do with difference in flour. I will probably investigate that at a later time when I try some other things from the book.

The filling is where I just went with a bit of my previous quiche making ability to guide me. I was going to use 4 eggs, but decided on 3 for volume purposes. I was out of milk so I used cream and a couple generous spoonfuls of cream fraiche. Next the veggies got tossed into the mix along with salt and pepper. A lovely thick creamy mix with dashes of green popping out went back into the crust and into the oven for 45mins at 350F. Oops, I almost forgot I had a small piece of gruyere left so I used that as well. I don’t know how I could forget to mention the cheese, I live for cheese.

I ate one slice hot, after letting it set for about 10 minutes on the counter to cool. I will probably take some with me cold and have it for my night shift snack. Protein is great for keeping alert all night. Since I didn’t measure anything I will attempt to give a recipe below as best as I can guess.

Broccoli Quiché

Pastry for one crust, use your favorite.

3 eggs
1 c cream
1/2 water
1/4 c crème fraîche
1 head broccoli, chopped into florets
1 small yellow onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1/2 c Gruyère, grated
salt
pepper

Whisk eggs in a medium size bowl. Add cream, water, crème fraîche, whisk together. Add broccoli, onion and garlic gentle stir. Season with salt and pepper. Pour into a blind baked crust, top with cheese and bake at 350F for 40-50 minutes until crust and cheese are lightly golden. Let sit at room temperature for at least 10 minutes before serving.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/20/2010.

5 Responses to “Recipe-less Quiche”

  1. Dana, you know how I feel about vegetarian, but even I love vegetarian style quiche.

    Looks delicious. I’d take a piece of that for lunch. YUM!

    Ann

  2. Ann – Yes, I thought you’d say it would be better with bacon. Quiche is a staple at my parents house when I was young. Cheap, quick and feeds several hungry mouths.

  3. Thats the nice part about cooking…you dont really need an exact recipe…wh we dont most of the time…the only time i have a recipe is when i have to write it for my blog! Lovely quiche! n tq for dropping by. 🙂

  4. This looks quick and easy, I will have to try it!

  5. I saw this on food with style and had to come for a visit. Great photo and love the recipe…so creamy good!

Leave a Reply

 
