Pizza Night

The other day I bought the most delicious genoa salami I have had in ages. I had nothing in mind when I bought it, but knew I would eat it with something in the coming few days. As I was going about my morning blog browsing with coffee I saw pizza over at Thibeault’s Table. Fantastic idea! I have something that can help me out with that, Matt, who agreed pizza would be a great idea.

Pizza was a wee bit of a joint effort. Although all I did was get come of the ingredients and make the dough. We decided to throw some basil and oregano into the crust dough. He made the sauce in the food processor, and although I wasn’t really watching it sounds like he followed Ann’s basic recipe. We made two simple pizzas, one with genoa and cheese, the other potato and cheese. The cheese was mostly mozzarella with a wee bit of parmesan. They were baked at high heat (I think he said 500F). They turned out pretty good, but my pizza dough making abilities need some practice, crusts were a bit too hard.

Ann’s Pizza Sauce
(from Thibeault’s Table)

1 28 oz can quality Italian Tomatoes
2 cloves of garlic
fennel seed
oregano
Basil
2 to 3 Tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper

Puree tomatoes with the minced garlic. Grind the fennel seeds. Add the seeds and the oregano, basil, and the olive oil and mix together.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/18/2010.

One Response to “Pizza Night”

  1. Dana, your pizza looks delicious! Now you have me hungry for it. I think I’ll make some tomorrow night – my niece will be here, and she loves to work with dough!!

    Your photos are wonderful. I recognize that beautiful board in the first photo! Oh how I wish I had one that large… One of these days!!

Leave a Reply

 
