Chorizo Pea Soup

The wind around here last night was horrible. I am lucky because I had power today, the people above me doing renovations were probably also happy they had power. I was feeling under the weather so I wasn’t all that happy with the renos. They were very polite and gave all of us around several days notice about possible noise. I had to get out of the house for a wee bit so I thought I would try pea soup today, mostly because it wouldn’t require a whole lot of my brain power and attention and the missing ingredients were at the store not too far away.

I decided on chorizo instead of the classic ham and pea soup. Tasty I must say. I love hot things. I used one fair sized loop of smoked chorizo from the charcuterie down the road. One could probably get a fresh couple sausages and pan fry them, although it may lack some of the wonderful smoky flavors. I may go back and change a few more things in this recipe but not a bad start to things. Note the soup ends up really thick, if you like your soup on the thin side add more stock or water.

Chorizo Pea Soup

1 tbsp butter
1 tbsp olive oil
1 medium carrot, peeled and sliced
1 celery stalk, sliced
1 medium yellow onion, minced
3 cloves garlic, mined
4 cups chicken broth
6 cups water
2 cups dried split green peas
3 sprigs thyme
1 bay leaf
1 lb smoked chorizo
smoked paprika
chili flakes
salt
pepper

Melt butter and oil together in a large sauce pan. Sautee carrots, celery, onions and garlic over moderate-high heat until the onions are nicely browned. Add chicken stock, water and peas, thyme and bay leaf. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 2 hours, or until peas have reached desired consistency. Remove the bay leaf.

While the soup is simmering slice the chorizo and brown. The lovely bright oils should begin to emerge from the sausage. Add a spoonful or two of oil to the simmering soup. Once the chorizo is nicely crisp on the outside remove from heat, set aside.

Season the peas with paprika, chili flakes, salt and pepper. Don’t go crazy with the salt here, as the sausage will add some more. Carefully pour the soup into a blender, puree until smooth. The soup will be rather thick. Pour into bowls for serving and top with chorizo. Drizzle a spoonful of oil on top and serve. If you like the lumpy pea texture you can omit the pureeing step, I personally prefer a more smooth pea soup texture.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/18/2010.

3 Responses to “Chorizo Pea Soup”

  1. I’m craving pea soup. I like the idea of spicy chorizo instead of ham.

    Great photo.

  2. I love the chrizo – might even make me try split pea soup again – haven’t since I was a kid. Thanks for this! ~Mary

  3. Hey Dana!
    I made your soup today and it was great! I used dried thyme and no celery and didn’t use the blender at the end either. Instead, I shredded the carrot and minced the onion so that it would be a tiny bit lumpy, but not so bad as to use the blender. Turned out great 🙂
    Also, I simmered the first hour with the lid, and the second hour without. The thickness was perfect.

Leave a Reply

 
