Sweet Stars

I had some chocolate chips in the cupboard that I needed to use up so I thought I would play around with caramel a bit more. I used the same fleur de sel caramel recipe that I had used to bake inside of cookies. Once again I have not yet bothered to find or buy a new candy thermometer. In fact this time around I just kind of watched the caramel cooking until it ‘looked’ done. I knew I could end up with a chocolate caramel goo, or a hardened brittle, both of which I wouldn’t be to sad about having to eat myself instead of share.

I have noticed a small collection of star shaped items in my kitchen; cookie cutters, turnover press, ice cube tray. I like stars, what can I say. The ice cube tray is one of those inexpensive silicone ones from Ikea which I decided to try as a caramel mold. It worked out well when lightly buttered. Because of the flexible silicone it was easy to push the little stars out onto a plate. I don’t know if Ikea still sell the star shape one but the hearts are equally cute, a nice gift for Valentine’s Day next month perhaps. I only filled them half way because I felt the caramel would be rather large if it took up the whole tray.

Chocolate Caramels

1 cup heavy cream, plus a little extra for chocolate (see below)
5 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 teaspoon fleur de sel
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cup light corn syrup
1/4 cup water
1/2 cup chocolate chips

Boil cream, butter and salt in a small saucepan. Remove from heat and set aside.

In a medium saucepan combine sugar, corn syrup and water. Stir gently until just mixed. Now put the whisk or spoon aside. Boil the sugar mixture until a golden amber colour. You can gently swirl the pot, but don’t stir!

While that is caramelizing melt the chocolate chips and stir in a few tablespoon fulls cream, stirring to make a chocolate ganache. Make sure to keep an eye on the suagr mixture though, you don’t want it to burn.

Back to the caramelized sugar mixture. Stir in the cream, butter, salt mixture carefully. Simmer for about 10-15 minutes. This is where you should check the temperature (248F), but as I said, I did not. Lastly stir in the chocolate ganache and spoon into the mold.

I poured the excess over a lightly butter piece of parchment so I could cut it into small cubes later. Cool for at least 2 hours. Wrap in individual pieces of waxed paper.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/14/2010.

3 Responses to “Sweet Stars”

  1. Wow – those look delicious, Dana! Now I want a star silicone mold. I’m going to see what’s hiding in my kitchen cabinets. I need to try something like this!

    Beautiful photography –

  2. Dana, your caramels are probably the best looking caramels I’ve ever seen. You obviously have the “touch”. Like fudge, caramels are not always easy to make. I might have to plan a quick trip down Island next time you make them.

  3. Oh, my, aren’t those DARLING! I love stars too, and use them whenever I can. I don’t have this ice cube mold, though. Why not, I”m wondering?

    What a great idea. I’m bookmarking this…

Leave a Reply

 
