Oats and Maple

Today was a day for oats and maple in my kitchen. I probably should have slept more before my night shift but I also felt like baking things. It is nice to have that warm smell on a rainy day and who really needs that much sleep right? I made an apple crisp and tried a new recipe for maple oatmeal bread. Both are mighty tasty and satisfied my sweet tooth for the day.

The apple crisp is fairly recipe-less. I used 3 granny smith and 3 braeburn apples. I don’t really enjoy eating either apple raw due to their tartness, but when baked they don’t get too mushy and baking offers enough sweetness. It also may be that I have some strange minor allergy to raw apples so I tend to save the suffering for one I truly enjoy raw. I drizzled some maple syrup over the cored, peeled and cut apples. Not too much, just a few tablespoons full to coat them when tossed in a small bowl.

My topping was a simple mix of flour, butter, cane sugar and rolled oats. I use about one part of each, depending on how large of a crisp I am making, today’s was approximately one half cup of each. Just a side note, cane sugar doesn’t come out like a regular brown sugar would here. The topping is a bit drier but I think a scoop of ice cream or whipped cream on the side when served solves that problem. I also grated a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg into the mixture as I cut in the butter. Once assembled I baked it for about 35 minutes at 350 F.

The bread I started before the crisp, that is what got me into an oat mood. I saw a picture on my blog reader feed this morning and after seeing the title maple oatmeal bread I had to check it out. It came out a nice sweet and dense loaf, dare I say maybe a bit too sweet. Although I guess we are dealing with maple syrup here. It it going to make perfect french toast tomorrow so long as I remember to pick up some eggs on my way home from work. The recipe makes two loaves and I only have one bread pan, so I just shaped the other and baked it out of the pan on my baking stone. I figure it just makes more nice brown crust to eat.

Ingredients:
2 1/2 cups boiling water
1 cup rolled oats
2-1/2 teaspoons dry yeast
3/4 cup maple syrup
2 teaspoons salt
1 tablespoon oil
5 to 6 cups all-purpose flour + flour for kneading

For directions check out One Perfect Bite.

I also remembered to use one of my abeego flats instead of plastic wrap today. Saves a little bit of garbage from the world which is always good. If you are wondering what I am talking about its a reusable bee wax infused cloth that can be used sometimes instead of plastic wrap, such as covering dough while it rises. I also think its a bit prettier to look at on the counter, not that looks really matter at this point.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/11/2010.

4 Responses to “Oats and Maple”

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed the bread. Thanks for the link love. I hope you’ll stop by often. We try to keep things interesting.

  2. Dana, both loaves are beauties. You should submit that picture to tastespotting and to foodgawker.

  3. Mmm!

  4. I LOVE apple crisp. My son does as well – he requested that instead of a grooms cake at his wedding (and got what he wanted!)

    Dana, your breads look perfect. I’ll have to try your recipe. I love those flavors!

Leave a Reply

 
