Saturday Blog Showcase #1


Ann over at Thibeault’s Table and Lori at All That Splatters are starting Saturday Blog Showcase. Each Saturday will be a recipe from someone’s blog. If you wanna join in on the fun you can read about it over HERE.

This week I tried Butternut Squash Gnocchi from Hungry Cravings. I posted the recipe below but I encourage you to go check out her blog for all the detailed instructions. Also because she wrote that little copyright on her blog I don’t want to ‘steal’. I served them in a brown butter and sage sauce. On the side we had prosciutto and boursin cheese wrapped asparagus.


I have never made gnocchi before so I didn’t really have any idea how the end texture would turn out compared to my dough. I have made a lot of pasta and I think that is why mine turned out a little on the firm side. I did add more flour then was called for though, so I imagine when done as the recipe says they will be tender and delicious. They were tasty though, by no means a fail. I also think if I had cut the squash the night before and set it out to air dry a little that would help get rid of some excess moisture leading to my overly sticky dough.

Butternut Squash Gnocchi

½ large butternut squash (about 2 ¼ pounds), seeded
Kosher salt
Freshly ground black pepper
12 ounces all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting

For the rest of the instructions click HERE.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/09/2010.

2 Responses to “Saturday Blog Showcase #1”

  1. Dana, these look amazing! I have a butternut squash I’ve been wondering what to do with. I’m going to have to make these gnocchi. Thanks for the heads up on a great recipe. I’m glad to know they were so good!

    Happy Saturday Blog Showcase!

  2. Oh my, I love butternut squash and I can just imagine how delicious your gnochi is with the butter and sage. Great photos.

    Thanks for participating in our first Blog Showcase.

Leave a Reply

 
