Potato Soup

It was another rainy day here, although I can’t complain too much because it was not cold compared to most of the winter weather across the country. But cold rainy days still call for warm comfort food. I received a bag full of potatoes in my produce box this week so I knew I had plenty for soup tonight. I had also made a couple loaves of french bread this morning which worked out well for dipping in the thick creamy soup. I now have lots of soup to take with me to work as tomorrow is the beginning of my work days.

The recipe came from I Want to Be A Gourmet Chef, by Gini who I follow on twitter. She made this one the other day and it sounded simple and quick. I have reposted the ingredients below but I did things oh so slightly different. Below are instructions as I made it. As someone suggested on Gini’s blog a bit of crunchy bacon on the top would be a nice addition, but I had none and with all the cream and butter it is probably fattening enough.

4 tbsp butter
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 tbsp flour
3 potatoes, peeled and chopped
2 cup milk (whole or 2%)
1/2 cup vegetable broth (you can use chicken broth, too)
1 can corn
1/2 cup cream
Shredded cheddar cheese
Salt
Pepper

I sautéed the onions and garlic in the butter over a low heat. Slowly caramelizing the onions because if browning butter and caramelizing sugar has taught me anything it’s that that amber brown colour makes everything taste better. This was the longest step but well worth the patience.

Next I added the milk (I used 3.25%), broth and whisked in a tbsp of corn starch in place of the flour. Only because I prefer it to flour as a thickening agent. Coincidentally that also makes it Celiac friendly, I have a handful of those friends. Then I dropped in the small cubes of potato. Bring it to a gentle boil then simmer about 15 minutes until the potato cooked. At this stage I took my wooden spoon and mashed up some on the inside of the pot as I stirred, leaving some cubes for biting into when eating.

Lastly I added a can of peaches and cream corn as well as the cream. This only needs stirring for about a minute to warm the corn and cream. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve in bowls with shredded cheddar on top. A nice aged white cheddar with more fresh pepper for me.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/08/2010.

3 Responses to “Potato Soup”

  1. Love the addition of the peaches and creamed corn instead of regular corn. I’ll have to try that! The photo looks like it turned out really well. And I’m impressed you made homemade bread!!

  2. Dana, I saw your soup this morning. It looked so good it inspired me to make a pot of bacon, potato and corn chowder. I had to work today so I took some for lunch.

    Ann

  3. Potato soup? I’m in! Love potato.

Leave a Reply

 
