Butter Tarts

I went to bed the other night craving butter tarts. I think it has something to do with the season and wandering through town seeing Christmas displays everywhere. I called my mom to ask her for her butter tart recipe because I figure my craving wouldn’t be satisfied unless they tasted like hers. I did make one big change, she said she uses margarine. I think that negates the whole point of baking a butter tart, sorry mom. Butter makes everything better. I used raw cane sugar instead of regular brown sugar because I use it instead of regular sugar in most things. I think I could eat 200 of these, at least I made them mini.

Pastry
2 cups flour
1 tsp salt
2 tbsp sugar
1/2 cup butter
1/3 cup lard or shortening
6-8 tbsp ice cold water

Mix flour, salt and sugar in a medium bowl. Cut in butter and lard until you have pea sized lumps. Use two knives if you don’t have a pastry cutter. Sprinkle tablespoons of water over the mixture and gentle mix. Don’t over mix or your pastry with be too chewy. Form a ball, wrap and chill for an hour or so. After its chilled roll dough on a lightly floured surface and cut into circles to line the muffin pan.

Butter Tart Filling
1 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup butter
1 egg
1/2 cup raisins
1 tsp vanilla

Cream butter and sugar together in a bowl. Add egg and vanilla, mix well. Stir in raisins. Drop spoonfulls into the tart shells and bake for 12-15mins in a 375F oven.

~ by danasaur82 on 11/25/2009.

One Response to “Butter Tarts”

  1. There is nothing better than a good butter tart and this one looks amazing!! BTW, I’m with you on the butter! the smell of Christmas! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

 
