Late Night Baking

It feels like I was baking things most of the day yesterday. Upon doing an inventory of things I made I guess that is true. I started out with hopes to finally bake Caramel Stuffed Apple Cider Cookies. I’ve been intending to bake these for well over a week, but I keep forgetting to buy caramels.

Yesterday morning I just decided to make some caramels instead. I’m glad I did because they are delicious. I need to learn to find all the things I need before starting things because I realized my candy thermometer was missing so I just had to test it in cold water. It works well but it leaves me with more room for error if I am not really paying attention to how the caramel is cooking. I used the Fleur de Sel Caramel recipe mostly because I like to put fleur de sel in everything I can.

After letting the caramel cool and cutting it into a million (well 64) individual pieces I put them back in the fridge while I made the cookie dough. I used a box of Aspen Mulling Spices because I had that in the cupboard, it’s volume is a bit less than the brand in the original recipe so I sprinkled some extra cinnamon, clove and nutmeg into the batter. The dough was quite soft so I ended up chilling it for about an hour before shaping balls of dough around each caramel.

I ate a couple of these for breakfast with my soy chai. Mmm. Setting the cookie on the edge of a hot beverage really does make the middle perfectly gooey and soft.

~ by danasaur82 on 11/24/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
