Vegetable Pot Pie

I used to make this vegetable pot pie when I was a student because it is easy and cheap. I made it for dinner tonight because I haven’t made it in over a year and a friend requested that I post something vegan. The original recipe, Incredible This-will-become-your-favorite Veggie Pot Pie, is from VegWeb. I was going to make an awesome nut loaf, but then I remembered I have only ever made it at other people’s homes because I lack a food processor and it is essential to that recipe. I’m posting the recipe as I tend to modify it below. In other news I really need to go buy some lamps/lights/fixture now that it is dark before dinner so I can take decent photos.

The recipe calls for a premade pie crust, but since I enjoy making pastry I made my own with vegetable shortening. So you can buy one or make one from a recipe you like.

1 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 potatoe
3 medium carrots
1 small zuchinni
1/2 cup mushrooms
1/2 cup broccoli
1 small red onion
8oz canned black beans, drained
1 package frozen spinach
garlic cloves, sage, rosemary, thyme
salt and pepper
2 tbsp flour or cornstarch

Preheat oven to 400F. Cut all the vegetable into small pieces. I throw the potatoes and carrot into a dish and pre-cook them a wee bit (microwave or oven works). Do not fully cook them or they will be mushy when your pie is done. Toss all the vegetables except for the spinach in a bowl.

In a saucepan bring vegetable broth to a boil with the garlic, herbs, salt and pepper to taste. Add flour or cornstarch to thicken the sauce. Then pour the sauce over the vegetables and mix well.

Fill the pie crust with the vegetables and top with the frozen spinach. Here is where the original recipe calls for vegan cheese. I find vegan cheese fairly gross so sometimes I grate some real cheddar on the pie at this point. Top with pie crust, crimp the edge and make a few slits in the top. Bake for 40 minutes in a 400F oven.

~ by danasaur82 on 11/23/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
