Minty Fresh

mintcupcake

I used a photo from previous time I made these delicious little cupcakes. Today I didn’t make ganache for the tops because I made them to share with friends at a stitch-n-bitch and I didn’t have vegan chocolate around. In case some of those other guests are in fact vegan or lactose intolerant I made them vegan. If I make these for myself I generally make a minty butter cream icing, much unlike the one the cookbook lists because my taste buds find vegetable shortening lacks that extra flavor. Coconut oil works well as long as its cold enough to be semi solid, but I used that up last week and forgot to put it on my grocery list.

A fantastic site I visit for some vegetarian/vegan inspiration is the Post Punk Kitchen. Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Romero from over there coauthored one of my favorite cookbooks, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over the World. If you are a cupcake fan, or even a have a sweet tooth such as myself, this book is impressive. Sometime I can’t believe for myself there are no eggs, milk or butter in these delicious little cakes. I have yet to attempt all 75 kinds, but I have made many of them. Maybe I’ll try some new ones when my butter budget has reached it’s limit for the month.

I’m off to stitch some things and drink tea!

~ by danasaur82 on 11/04/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
