Abundance of Apples

appleturnover

Apples, we grow a lot of them in this province. I happen to be somewhat allergic to them when eaten raw, but I eat them anyway. I have been having baked apples filled with raisins and cinnamon frequently in an effort to use mine all up and not have an itchy mouth. I had a sheet of leftover puff pastry from last nights dinner so today I filled that with apple goodness.

Today’s recipe came from the October 2009 issue of Bon Appétit, Golden Delicious Apple and Cheddar Turnovers with Dried Cranberries. Just in case you don’t have the magazine they have it posted on the site as well. I halved the recipe only because I had one sheet of pastry to use. I threw in a mix of different apples, granny smith, fiji and pink lady because they were in my fruit basket. It would have been counterproductive to buy more apples when I was trying to use the ones I had. I used a one year white cheddar. For the record orange cheddar kind of freaks me out, but sometimes I use it for it colour. The maple makes all the difference in these. Yum. If there may be such a thing as reincarnation I would like to come back as a maple tree so I may be filled with dark sappy goodness all the time. I topped these with raw cane sugar so they look a bit more dark on the tops than if I had used white, but I like the fuller flavor it has.

~ by danasaur82 on 10/30/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
