Pasties

pasty
I had a beautiful butternut squash sitting here while I contemplated what to make with it. I adore butternut squash soup, but that seemed like the rather obvious thing to do with it in my mind. I looked through some bookmarked recipes and found Butternut Squash, Sage, and Parmesan Pasties from the good people over at the kitchn. Excellent, just what I was in the mood for.

I haven’t made any pastry type thing in ages, which probably has more to do with my lack of a rolling pin rather than my not knowing how. One can only make so many tarts and pies with an empty wine bottle, however handy and green of me that may seem. It was getting a bit late in the day to start so I had to settle for purchasing a random rolling pin from a store close to my house. Not a large lovely wooden on from my dreams. Imagine one with discoloration from years of good use, that’s what I dream about. Buying a random rolling pin was cheaper than the bottle of wine I would have bought in its place, as my home had no wine. Fresh sage was also out at the grocery store most likely the result of last weeks Thanksgiving here in Canada. It would be more amazing with fresh sage.

I must say, for having not made a pastry in so long this was a perfect buttery flaky dinner for one. I opted to make 2 larger pasties. The recipe indicated 2 large or 4 small. The other one is going to come with me to work tomorrow in my abeego. I will be making these again and maybe experiment with some different fillers, mood and produce dependent. I have a vegan vegetable pie that would work well in these, although the butter in the crust would make it very non-vegan.

~ by danasaur82 on 10/22/2009.

One Response to “Pasties”

  1. Dana, your pastry looks perfect. What a wonderful flavour combination.

Leave a Reply

 
