Peace, Love and Corn Muffins

cornmuffin
I spent the morning a bit angry at the men on the building next to mine repairing a roof. Loud sounds of metal being cut was not exactly the Saturday morning wake-up call I had planned. I poached an egg with some toast and tomatos before thinking of what I actually needed to get done today. And what, if anything I wanted to experiment with in my kitchen.

I wandered around downtown enjoying some of our surprise sunshine finding a few things to complete my outfit for a friend’s 60’s theme party tonight. Then upon returning home I realized it is more specifically a Woodstock theme. My outfit went a slightly different direction but it still looks mighty cute. Then having my mind fill with thoughts of peace, love and some fantastic music I decided I would make something I could share with a few others. I dug through my over filled ‘food’ cupboard (things crash out at me when I open it) looked up and saw sunny yellow cornmeal. Perfect, goes along well with the weather and my improving mood.

I have several variations on cornbread in my recipe box (actually its a binder), none of which I LOVE, but I didn’t feel like searching for yet another variation so I made a simple one. Personally I like to throw corn kernels in there too but I had none around today. I think the whole muffin making process is pretty self explanatory so I won’t bore anyone with it, key being don’t over mix. I popped a dozen into the oven until they were almost golden brown, then broiled the tops to get a darker golden crust without over cooking them in the middle. Over cooked dry muffins are gross. They become dog food.

Having lovely yellow muffins calls for a special butter. Now I know I got this idea somewhere else along the way, but can’t for the life of me recall where. I don’t have any recipe, more of a blend and taste method. Mmm, butter. As much butter as you think you will need for the muffins, a spoonful of honey and some thyme to taste. I prefer fresh thyme, but dry was all that was around today. Mashed it all up with a fork in a small bowl and put it back in the fridge until the muffins were finished.

Cornmeal Muffins

1 cup cornmeal
1 cup all purpose flour (I’ve done brown rice flour as well)
4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp brown or cane sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cup milk (I usually use soy milk)
4 tbsp vegetable/canola oil

Preheat oven to 375 F. Mix all the dry ingredients. Beat the egg and milk together and pout into a well in the dry ingredients. Gently mix. Add oil. Stir a few times to mix. Spoon into muffin pan. Bake for approximately 20 minutes. Makes 12 muffins.

~ by danasaur82 on 10/03/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
