Stuffed Sweet Peppers

stuffedpepper
My kitchen creation for today started out with a container of beautiful mini peppers from Spud, my organic produce delivery. I will admit I smiled when I opened the delivery box and saw them all so tiny and bright and fresh looking. Recalling a conversation I had with a co-worker about stuffed bell peppers I thought the idea would translate beautifully to bite sized versions.

I pulled out Mastering the Art of French Cooking to make some mayonnaise, another thing I had never attempted. My partner told me it wasn’t too difficult. He was right. I think I am now hooked on the stuff. I used some of yesterdays bread to taste test my creamy eggy creation.

After the dough kneading yesterday I decided this was not a time to whisk by hand just because I could. I whisked a meringue for the top of a pie once, before I had any other option. Although it works, it was just so time consuming. Electric beaters all the way for this one until someone gifts me a kitchen-aid mixer! (hint hint)

The rest of my stuffed peppers were a random mix of things. I made a tuna salad because I knew I didn’t have to share with my partner, who dislikes almost all things seafood. I threw in a bunch of random ingredients: dill, chives, red onion, celery, grainy mustard, mayonnaise and some salt and pepper. Using a salt spoon I scooped and stuffed my tiny peppers and a couple of wee tomatoes I had grown on my balcony. I am happy to say they were all tasty; the dog had a small bite as well.


On another topic you should head over to Thibeault’s Table and enter the giveaway to win some amazing handcrafted “Stirrers” crafted by an artist local to our area. She has some other cutting/carving/serving boards for purchase over that way as well. I tell you they look even better in ‘real life’. I’ll be saving some pennies to get one of my own one of these days. It puts the cedar spoon I carved on a camping trip to shame, at least my mom still has it.

~ by danasaur82 on 10/02/2009.

Leave a Reply

 
