Another Chocolate Cake


The best chocolate cake recipe I have ever had or made has to be Nigella’s Old Fashion Chocolate Cake. In fact I don’t think there are many chocolate things Nigella has recipe’s far that aren’t worth the time. The best part of this one is that it doesn’t take any time. I still prefer to mix it by hand rather than in a food processor, mainly because cleaning up a food processor to me is more of a pain than cutting out a bit of time in the kitchen. That may also be because I leave the dishes for Matt a lot of the time.

I’ve been experimenting with the cake recipe and different flours and sugars. Not that I am really trying to make a health chocolate cake, but maybe one a wee bit more healthy. Today’s cake was a mix of all-purpose flour and almond flour. Almond flour is just fine ground blanched almonds so as one can expect it doesn’t bake like regular wheat flour. I also used only half of the white sugar called for, making up the rest with raw cane sugar. The extra flavors in the cane sugar really add to the chocolate. Speaking of chocolate I doubled the cocoa from the original amount. Why? Because it is chocolate people! So until I get to purchasing some more flours here is a cake to feast your eyes upon.

~ by danasaur82 on 09/26/2010.

4 Responses to “Another Chocolate Cake”

  1. Nice to see you posted. I’ve been missing them. This looks delicious! How was it with the almond flour? heavier? moistness? Do tell!

  2. The almond flour makes it much denser and very moist. It’s Matt’s belated birthday cake, he seems to be enjoying it. :)

  3. Double the chocolate! Why didn’t I think of that??! Beautiful cake, Dana. I too am a Nigella fan and love just about every recipe of hers that I’ve tried!

  4. Gorgeous cake. Lucky Matt.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

