Cheddar Muffins

Mmm cheese. Where can one go wrong with cheese? A local coffee shop has one of my favorite muffins with cheddar and feta. I could eat them by the dozen so I am always on the hunt for savory cheese muffins. This morning I woke up, looked in the fridge and had some cheddar and green onions to use up. This recipe is kind of a mash-up but I think the end result is quite satisfying. I’m eating one warm out of the oven smothered in butter as I write this post. I also tossed in a tablespoon of ‘3 Onion’ dip mix, which is just dried onion, chive, scallion for some extra oniony taste.

Giant Cheddar Muffins

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3/4 cup grated cheddar cheese
1/4 cup chopped green onions or chives

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

Combine dry ingredients in a large bowl. Toss in cheddar and green onions/chives, lightly coating with the flour to prevent them from all sticking in one place in the batter.

Beat together egg, milk and oil. Making a well in the dry ingredients at the wet and gently stir until its all just moistened.

Fill large muffin tins with batter, I make 6 big ones with hardly any batter left over. They are overfilled but since the batter is quite thick it stays in place. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Remove, cool and serve.

~ by danasaur82 on 09/22/2010.

5 Responses to “Cheddar Muffins”

  1. Oooh, Dana, they look and sound delicious! I’m loving the board your babies are sitting on, too. Gorgeous!

  2. So glad you are posting again. You know that I love savory scones. The idea of cheddar muffins really appeal to me. Can’t wait to try them.

    Oh, and they sure look nice on your board.

    Ann

  3. They look delicious!!!! I will have to try them or you could make me some and come for a visit?????

  4. onions and cheese yummmmm

  5. Fact 2 Bacon green onions sharp cheddar cheese creamy havarti cheese and gruyere cheese are also wonderful. Fact 3 If you mix creamy fluffy mashed potatoes with bacon green onions sharp cheddar cheese creamy havarti and gruyere you have one heck of a Thanksgiving side dish.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

