Saturday Blog Showcase #21 (it think!?)


I missed out on many weeks of the blog showcase. But I have one to share. This one again came from Ann’s blog some time ago. It was the perfect dinner to make for my Dad and brother when they came for a quick visit. My family is all very active so we often filled our bellies full of pasta as fuel for all of our various activities. They both enjoyed this one.

Pasta can’t really get much easier but this one was super easy. I’d say even if you can’t cook you could make this in about 20 minutes from start to finish. I used cut olives because the full ones at the store didn’t look very good that day. I added extra garlic because one can never have too much right? If I were to make this one again I would probably not even bother having pitted olives, as I like the juicy taste whole ones have but its not as pretty to spit out pits on the side of ones plate.

Peperoni Sauce (adapted from Thibeault’s Table)

2 medium Red Peppers
2 minced garlic clove
10 Kalamata olives (I bought them pitted and chopped)
1 tablespoons capers
olive oil
salt
2 oz. butter Softened
4 oz parmesan cheese, Grated
a little cream
fresh basil

Start the sauce when you put the water on to boil for the pasta.

Wash, dry and deseed and cut the peppers into thin strips lengthways. Stone and cut each olive into three or four pieces. (I didn’t do that because the grocery store did it for me!) Wash and dry the capers if they have been salted.

Coat the bottom of a large frying pan with olive oil and gently fry the peppers until tender, adding the olives, capers and garlic halfway through the cooking time. Salt to taste. Strain off the excess olive oil.

When the pasta is cooked, transfer it to a serving dish and pour the sauce over the top. Heat the butter and cream and toss with pasta. Add basil if using. Add the Parmesan cheese and mix thoroughly.

Serve individual portions with extra Parmesan if liked.

~ by danasaur82 on 05/29/2010.

3 Responses to “Saturday Blog Showcase #21 (it think!?)”

  1. The guys came home and said that the pasta was great!!

  2. omg Dana i am SOOO hungry right now and after reading this and seeing the picture, it seems the only thing that will satisfy me is this dish. Mmmm!

  3. So simple & yet it sounds so flavorful, too. Thanks for sharing this as I didn’t see it when Ann first made it.
    Funny that we both did pasta for the blog showcase, huh? GMTA

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

