Warm gooey lunch

I did my usual payday downtown foodie walk. Plenty is back open after a holiday break, the little epicurean store across from my place that has some good ingredients and cooking things to browse. I forget how spoiled I am to have it literally just across the street. Much to my enjoyment and surprise they had a mustard made by a German lady close to where my grandparents are. The jar I bought direct from her is long since gone. After that I went to pick up some meats from Choux Choux. I gawked at the cheeses as well, but have at least 4 types at home I should use up before buying more. Then I venture downtown to buy a steel to sharpen my knives. I works very well and I am happy I can cut things effortlessly once again.

I made cinnamon creme brulee last night right before I went to sleep. I must say it is a perfect recipe over at Sugarlaws and perfect portions for two people. So I had that for dessert at lunch time. I decided to have croque monsieur as well, because I needed something a bit more substantial than sugar and cream to keep me going. I used a light rye bread instead of white, because I ran out of french bread with the onion soup last night. It was quick to assemble with a bit of ham, bechamel, gruyère, mustard, then top with more bechamel and cheese. A broiled warm, gooey sandwich to eat with knife and fork. I sat down and enjoyed it while reading my new cookbook (in the background).

On a quick side note about cook books, does anyone else use Eat Your Books? I was thinking about getting a membership but would like to hear some real reviews about the site. Now back to making what I will post tomorrow for the Saturday Blog Showcase! Its yellow, that’s all I am saying.

~ by danasaur82 on 01/15/2010.

2 Responses to “Warm gooey lunch”

  1. OMG that sammy looks delish Dana. Next time we could do lunch at your place! lol I made an apple crisp tonight and had vanilla ice cream. oh so good.

  2. I would have been extremely happy with that lunch, Dana! Creme brulee is my all-time favorite dessert, and you definitely can’t go wrong with a Croque Monsieur! You’ve been eating well! :D

    P.S. I’m jealous that you have such a wonderful store so close to you!!

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

